WILLIAMS TOOK $6000 TO MEETING WITH POLICEMAN – Saturday March 2 2013

– Murdered underworld boss Carl Williams grabbed $6000 from his father on his way to a meeting at a suburban swimming pool with a Drug Squad detective, a court has heard.

And George Williams testified in Victoria’s Supreme Court on Friday that his son and former policeman Paul Dale had met several times at various locations across Melbourne.

Mr Williams told the court that he remembered driving his son – whom he described in court as a very honest person – to the East Keilor Leisure Centre on one occasion after Carl told him he was going there to meet Dale, who was a detective with Victoria Police’s Major Drug Investigation Division at the time.

Mr Williams, said the get-together followed a chance meeting between Carl and Dale in Albert Park on August 1st, 2003.

The court heard that on the way to the swimming pool, his son asked him if he had any cash. He said he handed over $6000  to Carl when they got there, but as he remained in the car while the meeting took place, he was not sure what Carl had done with it thereafter.

“Carl put it in his pocket and went in to meet with who he was supposed to meet with, Paul Dale,” he said. The meeting lasted about 10 minutes before his son returned to the car and they left.

Mr Williams said while they did not discuss sensitive matters in the car because they feared it might have been bugged, they later spoke about what happened.

Dale, 43, has pleaded not guilty to 12 charges of lying to the Australian Crime Commission about his relationship with Williams.

He is alleged to have lied while he was being examined by the ACC in March 2007 and November 2008 by stating that his only contact with the gangland figure was in a professional capacity twice in 2003, in addition to the chance meeting.

He is accused of having an ongoing secret relationship with the underworld killer – who was murdered in jail in 2010 – which included Dale disclosing confidential police information for cash.

Mr Williams testified that on another occasion his son had met with Dale at Hillside before Carl and the policeman drove somewhere in Dale’s car before returning 1 1/2 hours later.

Mr Williams admitted to having a conviction for perjury, but said his son was more honest than him. He added that Carl had probably only lied, schemed, murdered and arranged for people to be murdered to protect himself.

The jury has heard that crucial to the prosecution case was a recorded conversation between Dale and Carl’s barrister Nicola Gobbo, with whom Dale has admitted to having an extramarital affair.

He is alleged to have told Ms Gobbo that Carl had made a very accurate statement to authorities in relation to the murders of police informer Terence Hodson and his wife.

The trial, before Justice Elizabeth Curtain, continues  – Andrea Petrie

 

About Jumpin' Jack Cash

Deep connections are the most important aspect of my existence. I don’t care if people don’t know what they want. I love books. I’m cynical of love stories, although I’m romantic. I adore gardens. I like women who challenge me. I love the rain as an excuse to stay inside and dream. I'm furiously impatient. If I ask you a question best to tell me the truth as I'm likely to already know the answer. I'm a carnivore. I continuously underestimate the magic of fresh flowers in my home. I love warm rain in the summer. My mood elevates to epic proportions when the sun shines. Tell me not to do something and I'll do it twice and take photos. Running is my antidepressant. I loathe lies. I rarely forgive a lie. Loyalty and honesty are my most noble virtues, and I value them more than anything in other people. I love to love, and am able to fall in love very quickly, although it's only ever happened once. I understood myself and fixed myself only after destroying myself. My greatest excitement comes from deliberately getting lost in foreign cities. I can be extremely loud and frighteningly silent. I hate insinuations. I love storms. Justice for all. I'm a proud man, but welcome the influence of the feminine soul. I have two sisters. I’m a dreamer. I’m a deep thinker. Don’t deal with guilt trips or drama that well. I'm extremely stubborn and persistent. I'm brilliant at keeping secrets. I love driving. I become absolutely and completely lost while watching a burning fire. When the toast pops from the toaster I’m never ready and shit myself. I play the guitar, but require much improvement. Solitude and warmth of the sun are perfect together. I’ve been married once and now divorced. I’m a music junkie. Chocolate mousse is the shit. I curse too much. I find it difficult to make friends. I spent four years as a firefighter. I’ve run my own company since 1991. Bright lights, big cities. I’ve been an executive producer of a feature film. Some people don’t care, and that’s the biggest let-down of the human race. There are cures and solutions for many evils, but no remedy for the worst of them all - the apathy of human beings. The sound of the Italian language being spoken is as good as my favourite music. I hate corrupt cops. I relentlessly and passionately pursue anybody and anything that sets my soul on fire. I'm a dog lover, and all my dogs are considered family members. I have an obsession with photography. I have some close friends who are household names, but shall always remain anonymous. I’m crazy but not lazy. Losing a soulmate has hurt me badly. My two young sons are the nucleus of my universe. I love airports. I love freedom. If you are dishonest or disloyal, I can erase you from my life and memory immediately and permanently. I yearn to explore, dream about and discover as many friendships, deep connections and places, one possibly can in a lifetime.
This entry was posted in Corruption and Misconduct, Homicide, Organised Crime, Perjury and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

