THE TERROR IS OVER. AND JUSTICE HAS WON – Sunday April 21 2013

– One of America’s biggest manhunts ended in a suburban backyard early on Saturday when a trail of blood led police to an accused Boston Marathon bomber hiding inside a boat.
Exhausted and wounded, 19-year-old Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, whose brother was killed in a shootout earlier in the day, staged a final gun battle with his pursuers before he gave in.
“Captured!!! The hunt is over. The search is done. The terror is over. And Justice has won. Suspect in custody,” the Boston Police Department said on Twitter after the capture. Police had only just held a news conference at which they virtually admitted Tsarnaev had escaped when the break came.
“A man had gone out of his house after being inside the house all day,” Boston Police chief Ed Davis told reporters, referring to a request officials made to residents to stay behind locked doors. “He saw blood on a boat in the backyard. He then opened the tarp on the top of the boat and he looked in and saw a man covered in blood.”
Celebrations erupted across the city, including around Bolylston Street in Central Boston – scene of Monday’s carnage. “Let’s go, Boston” and “USA, USA,” crowds chanted, with some people climbing onto car roofs while others danced in the streets.
President Barack Obama praised law enforcement officials in a White House statement, saying, “We’ve closed an important chapter in this tragedy.”
As about 30 law enforcement officers wearing helmets walked away from the scene of what had been a tense standoff only minutes earlier, neighbours who had gathered on an adjacent street applauded and shouted, “Thank you! Thank you!”
Mr Obama said he had directed federal law enforcement officials to continue to investigate what had happened, and urged people not to rush to judgement about the motivations behind the attacks.
The President said the bombing suspects had failed to achieve whatever it was they were seeking. “They failed because the people of Boston refused to be intimidated. They failed because as Americans, we refuse to be terrorised.”
Tsarnaev’s arrest in neighbouring Watertown ended a wrenching week in Boston, which began with the bombings that killed three and injured more than 170 at one of the city’s most cherished events. It was the worst domestic attack on the US since the September 11, 2001, atrocities.
The week ended with another stunning spasm of violence, which began late on Thursday night. Dzhokhar Tsarnaev and his older brother, Tamerlan, are accused of killing a police officer, hijacking a Mercedes and engaging police in a shootout in which the elder Tsarnaev was killed.
On Friday night, the city’s ordeal ended with a flood of relief.
At the scene, bystanders broke into applause. From a passing SWAT truck, an office returned the sentiment: “Thank you,” he said over the loudspeaker. “It’s been a pleasure.”
The height of the emotions revealed the depth of the damage done. In a few days, the Tsarnaevs had become a new lesson in the awful magnifying power of terrorism. Two brothers, armed with low-tech bombs and no apparent escape plan, had allegedly killed four people and held one of America’s great cities in terror.
Meanwhile, the FBI has confirmed that its agents in Boston had interviewed Tamerlan Tsarnaev in 2011 at the request of a foreign government. A law enforcement official said the request came from the Russian government, concerned about Tsarnaev’s potential ties to Chechen terrorists. But, after that interview, the FBI did not follow him further, officials said.
As the manhunt ended on Friday, investigators turned to another task: determining how the two had been turned to violence. So far, authorities said they had no proof that anybody beyond the two Tsarnaev brothers was involved in the marathon attacks.
The endgame began on Thursday evening when authorities released photos of the two men, who had been spotted carrying backpacks near the Boston Marathon’s finish line. A few hours later, the pair began their violent rampage just across the Charles River in Cambridge.
After his brother was killed in the shootout, Dzhokhar Tsarnaev fled to a house just outside the search zone. By 6pm, officials conceded they had not found him and couldn’t be sure where he was. They lifted an order to residents to stay inside. Just after that, the resident in Watertown went outside and saw the blood. A police helicopter used infrared technology to spot movement under the plastic cover.
Inside was Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, who had been wounded by the firefight hours earlier. He may have been injured again by the exchange of gunfire with officers that surrounded the boat. Officers tried to negotiate his surrender. There was no response. Finally, a robot pulled back the cover, and the SWAT team pulled him out. He was wounded in the leg and the neck.
As bystanders cheered, an ambulance carried him to Massachusetts General Hospital, where there were still 10 patients being treated for wounds inflicted by Monday’s bombing – Annie Gowen, Sari Horwitz & David Fahrenthold

About Jumpin' Jack Cash

Deep connections are the most important aspect of my existence. I don’t care if people don’t know what they want. I love books. I’m cynical of love stories, although I’m romantic. I adore gardens. I like women who challenge me. I love the rain as an excuse to stay inside and dream. I'm furiously impatient. If I ask you a question best to tell me the truth as I'm likely to already know the answer. I'm a carnivore. I continuously underestimate the magic of fresh flowers in my home. I love warm rain in the summer. My mood elevates to epic proportions when the sun shines. Tell me not to do something and I'll do it twice and take photos. Running is my antidepressant. I loathe lies. I rarely forgive a lie. Loyalty and honesty are my most noble virtues, and I value them more than anything in other people. I love to love, and am able to fall in love very quickly, although it's only ever happened once. I understood myself and fixed myself only after destroying myself. My greatest excitement comes from deliberately getting lost in foreign cities. I can be extremely loud and frighteningly silent. I hate insinuations. I love storms. Justice for all. I'm a proud man, but welcome the influence of the feminine soul. I have two sisters. I’m a dreamer. I’m a deep thinker. Don’t deal with guilt trips or drama that well. I'm extremely stubborn and persistent. I'm brilliant at keeping secrets. I love driving. I become absolutely and completely lost while watching a burning fire. When the toast pops from the toaster I’m never ready and shit myself. I play the guitar, but require much improvement. Solitude and warmth of the sun are perfect together. I’ve been married once and now divorced. I’m a music junkie. Chocolate mousse is the shit. I curse too much. I find it difficult to make friends. I spent four years as a firefighter. I’ve run my own company since 1991. Bright lights, big cities. I’ve been an executive producer of a feature film. Some people don’t care, and that’s the biggest let-down of the human race. There are cures and solutions for many evils, but no remedy for the worst of them all - the apathy of human beings. The sound of the Italian language being spoken is as good as my favourite music. I hate corrupt cops. I relentlessly and passionately pursue anybody and anything that sets my soul on fire. I'm a dog lover, and all my dogs are considered family members. I have an obsession with photography. I have some close friends who are household names, but shall always remain anonymous. I’m crazy but not lazy. Losing a soulmate has hurt me badly. My two young sons are the nucleus of my universe. I love airports. I love freedom. If you are dishonest or disloyal, I can erase you from my life and memory immediately and permanently. I yearn to explore, dream about and discover as many friendships, deep connections and places, one possibly can in a lifetime.
This entry was posted in Bombing, Car-Jacking, Homicide, Manhunts, Police Killings, Police Shootings, Terrorism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

