CROWN WORKER DENIES SHIELDING HIGH-ROLLER ACCUSED OF ASSAULT – Tuesday May 7 2013

– A Crown employee yesterday denied changing his story to protect a high-roller accused of groping a pregnant colleague in a lift.
A jury has heard marketing manager Herbert Jia told police he saw businessman Xiangcai Yun pull the woman into the lift at Crown Towers. Yesterday, he told jurors they entered the lift holding hands in by traditional greeting.
Speaking through an interpreter, Mr Jia said his English was substandard and when he made his police statement he was confused about what “pulled” meant.
Cross-examining Mr Jia, prosecutor Rebekah Sleeth suggested he was downplaying events to help his valuable client and himself.
“I suggest to you your memory is very good in matters favourable to Mr Yun and poor concerning matters unfavourable to Mr Yun.”
Mr Jia replied he was only saying what he saw, “I’m not a detective. I don’t know which evidence is good for who,” Mr Jia said.
Mr Yun has pleaded not guilty to indecent assault and false imprisonment. He is accused of trapping the woman in the lift, touching her breast and offering her $20,000 to go to his room.
The court heard that on February 7th, 2011, Mr Yun had been on his way to dinner with family after gambling on the 39th floor, where the minimum spend is $3 million.
Mr Jia told the County Court he and a colleague had been in the lift with Mr Yun and the woman, but left to get Mr Yun’s mobile phone.
He said he did not see Mr Yun ogle the woman’s breasts, smell her, or force her into the lift after she declined a dinner invitation.
He said after retrieving the phone, he opened the lift doors to see Mr Yun and the woman, who looked unhappy and uncomfortable, standing in similar positions, hit closer together.
Mr Jia said the woman had addressed Mr Yun, a well-known regular, by name. He said staff held briefings on the high-rollers, which included information about the sums they brought, their average bets, and their previous gambling record.
Mr Jia said it wouldn’t be unusual for Mr Yun to carry up to $100,000 in chips.
Defence counsel Scott Johns has asked jurors to consider whether there was an incentive for the woman to make an assault claim.
The trial, before Judge Jane Campton continues – Emily Portelli

About Jumpin' Jack Cash

Deep connections are the most important aspect of my existence. I don’t care if people don’t know what they want. I love books. I’m cynical of love stories, although I’m romantic. I adore gardens. I like women who challenge me. I love the rain as an excuse to stay inside and dream. I'm furiously impatient. If I ask you a question best to tell me the truth as I'm likely to already know the answer. I'm a carnivore. I continuously underestimate the magic of fresh flowers in my home. I love warm rain in the summer. My mood elevates to epic proportions when the sun shines. Tell me not to do something and I'll do it twice and take photos. Running is my antidepressant. I loathe lies. I rarely forgive a lie. Loyalty and honesty are my most noble virtues, and I value them more than anything in other people. I love to love, and am able to fall in love very quickly, although it's only ever happened once. I understood myself and fixed myself only after destroying myself. My greatest excitement comes from deliberately getting lost in foreign cities. I can be extremely loud and frighteningly silent. I hate insinuations. I love storms. Justice for all. I'm a proud man, but welcome the influence of the feminine soul. I have two sisters. I’m a dreamer. I’m a deep thinker. Don’t deal with guilt trips or drama that well. I'm extremely stubborn and persistent. I'm brilliant at keeping secrets. I love driving. I become absolutely and completely lost while watching a burning fire. When the toast pops from the toaster I’m never ready and shit myself. I play the guitar, but require much improvement. Solitude and warmth of the sun are perfect together. I’ve been married once and now divorced. I’m a music junkie. Chocolate mousse is the shit. I curse too much. I find it difficult to make friends. I spent four years as a firefighter. I’ve run my own company since 1991. Bright lights, big cities. I’ve been an executive producer of a feature film. Some people don’t care, and that’s the biggest let-down of the human race. There are cures and solutions for many evils, but no remedy for the worst of them all - the apathy of human beings. The sound of the Italian language being spoken is as good as my favourite music. I hate corrupt cops. I relentlessly and passionately pursue anybody and anything that sets my soul on fire. I'm a dog lover, and all my dogs are considered family members. I have an obsession with photography. I have some close friends who are household names, but shall always remain anonymous. I’m crazy but not lazy. Losing a soulmate has hurt me badly. My two young sons are the nucleus of my universe. I love airports. I love freedom. If you are dishonest or disloyal, I can erase you from my life and memory immediately and permanently. I yearn to explore, dream about and discover as many friendships, deep connections and places, one possibly can in a lifetime.
This entry was posted in False Imprisonment, Indecent Assault / Exposure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

