CRIME IN THE KITCHEN, CRACKDOWN ON PARENTS TURNING HOME INTO DRUG LAB – Monday August 12 2013

– Only hours before, a kitchen is used to make a family dinner. But with the kids fed, bathed and in bed, it now becomes a fully operational, clandestine drug lab.
Everything from the oven, dishwasher, kettle, sink and fridge are used to manufacture amphetamines.
But Victoria Police are now getting tough with proposed new laws for mums and dads who risk the lives of their children with drug labs.
Figures show that Victoria reported the biggest jump in illegal labs detected with 99 discovered between 2011 and 2012 – up from 63 the year before.
Amphetamines are the most common drugs being made, with 71 labs found to be making the drug last year.
Also being made is GHB, homebake heroin and pseudoephedrine extraction.
Pictures obtained by the Herald Sun show drugs being made in filthy garages, sunrooms, sheds and kitchens with the rundown rooms littered with chemicals, drug-making equipment, discarded cigarettes, electric works and dangerous wiring.
Clandestine Laboratory Squad Detective Senior Sergeant Bradley Nichols said it could be time to confront teens and show them where the drugs were made and what they were really putting into their mouth for a cheap thrill.
“This is what I try and tell people, especially the young kids who have been taking drugs at rave parties. If I brought you here and told you that I cooked a Sunday roast in those conditions, would you eat it? No, you wouldn’t. But kids are popping pills because they have an idea that a tablet comes from a chemist. Reality is far from different,” he said.
“You have to get it out of your head that it’s a big pristine lab with Bunsen burners and scientific glassware and a chemist in a white coat and glasses.
“There are some in all of society who think, ‘it won’t affect me, it won’t hurt me, I’m invincible’ and unfortunately that’s not the case.”
Detective Senior Sergeant Nichols revealed police were in talks with the Office of Public Prosecutions and legislators to toughen the law for people who manufacture drugs with children around.
“Even though I have seen quite a few I’m still surprised at the amount of people who are doing this in a suburban street, a lot of them with families,” he said.
“They have kids asleep in the bedroom and they cook in the kitchen at night. They are cooking dinner, feeding the kids, bathing the kids and put the kids to bed and they manufacture drugs in the same house. We are starting to see a fair bit of that.”
International organised crime gangs are running drug labs in Victoria and bikies have been linked to illegal drug labs.
The elaborate drug dens are often secured with CCTV cameras, there are guns and knives on the property and some homes are even booby-trapped, presenting police with more challenges.
The chemicals are so volatile with the amateur set up, that they can blow at any point.
Detective Senior Sergeant Nichols said serviced apartments were an increasingly popular option for drug dens, and people used fake IDs to get the rooms.
“You can have a couple of suitcases for all your equipment,” he said – Aleks Devic

About Jumpin' Jack Cash

Deep connections are the most important aspect of my existence. I don’t care if people don’t know what they want. I love books. I’m cynical of love stories, although I’m romantic. I adore gardens. I like women who challenge me. I love the rain as an excuse to stay inside and dream. I'm furiously impatient. If I ask you a question best to tell me the truth as I'm likely to already know the answer. I'm a carnivore. I continuously underestimate the magic of fresh flowers in my home. I love warm rain in the summer. My mood elevates to epic proportions when the sun shines. Tell me not to do something and I'll do it twice and take photos. Running is my antidepressant. I loathe lies. I rarely forgive a lie. Loyalty and honesty are my most noble virtues, and I value them more than anything in other people. I love to love, and am able to fall in love very quickly, although it's only ever happened once. I understood myself and fixed myself only after destroying myself. My greatest excitement comes from deliberately getting lost in foreign cities. I can be extremely loud and frighteningly silent. I hate insinuations. I love storms. Justice for all. I'm a proud man, but welcome the influence of the feminine soul. I have two sisters. I’m a dreamer. I’m a deep thinker. Don’t deal with guilt trips or drama that well. I'm extremely stubborn and persistent. I'm brilliant at keeping secrets. I love driving. I become absolutely and completely lost while watching a burning fire. When the toast pops from the toaster I’m never ready and shit myself. I play the guitar, but require much improvement. Solitude and warmth of the sun are perfect together. I’ve been married once and now divorced. I’m a music junkie. Chocolate mousse is the shit. I curse too much. I find it difficult to make friends. I spent four years as a firefighter. I’ve run my own company since 1991. Bright lights, big cities. I’ve been an executive producer of a feature film. Some people don’t care, and that’s the biggest let-down of the human race. There are cures and solutions for many evils, but no remedy for the worst of them all - the apathy of human beings. The sound of the Italian language being spoken is as good as my favourite music. I hate corrupt cops. I relentlessly and passionately pursue anybody and anything that sets my soul on fire. I'm a dog lover, and all my dogs are considered family members. I have an obsession with photography. I have some close friends who are household names, but shall always remain anonymous. I’m crazy but not lazy. Losing a soulmate has hurt me badly. My two young sons are the nucleus of my universe. I love airports. I love freedom. If you are dishonest or disloyal, I can erase you from my life and memory immediately and permanently. I yearn to explore, dream about and discover as many friendships, deep connections and places, one possibly can in a lifetime.
This entry was posted in Drug Trafficking, Manufacturing and Dealing, Organised Crime and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

