DETECTIVES SCOUR HUNDREDS OF CCTV CAMERAS IN HUNT FOR MISSING TEENAGER

September 27 2014

– CCTV has played a ‘crucial’ role in the hunt for missing schoolgirl Alice Gross who disappeared more than four weeks ago.
Scotland Yard said it had scoured footage from hundreds of cameras in a bid to trace the 14-year-old who was last seen crossing a towpath at Grand Union Canal in west London on August 28.
Officers are reviewing film from around 300 cameras over a six-mile square area as the search for Alice enters its fifth week.
But while CCTV has aided investigations, police said they were also relying on the public to turf up new information.
Detective Superintendent Carla Mehta said: ‘CCTV is clearly crucial in our investigation, but we still need the public’s help and I want to hear from anyone who saw Alice during the afternoon of the Thursday she was last seen.
‘Our searches are continuing in the local area today, and there are extra officers involved. I’d like to thank the community who have been so supportive and patient.
‘In over 30 years of policing I have never seen such a strong community reaction. This is a community that is totally behind the search to find Alice and bring her home.’
She added the case’s prime suspect, Latvian murderer Arnis Zalkalns, who was seen cycling on the same towpath 15 minutes after Alice, was just ‘one line of inquiry’ in the investigation.
Zalkalns, who killed his wife in 1997 before entering the UK where he was arrested for assaulting a teenager the same age as Alice in 2007, went missing at the beginning of September.
Police continue to search for the missing schoolgirl who disappeared on August 28 in the largest deployment of police resources since the 7/7 bombings +14
Police continue to search for the missing schoolgirl who disappeared on August 28 in the largest deployment of police resources since the 7/7 bombings
Metropolitan Police today searched a wasteland between river Brent and Elthorne Park near Trumpers Way, Hanwell, where Alice was last seen +14
Metropolitan Police today searched a wasteland between river Brent and Elthorne Park near Trumpers Way, Hanwell, where Alice was last seen
Officers are now considering footage from around 300 CCTV cameras as the hunt for missing Alice continues +14
Officers are now considering footage from around 300 CCTV cameras as the hunt for missing Alice continues
Two officers search a section of the river Brent as the hunt for 14-year-old Alice Gross enters its fifth week +14
Two officers search a section of the river Brent as the hunt for 14-year-old Alice Gross enters its fifth week
The operation is the largest use of police resources since the 7/7 bombings, a Scotland Yard source said +14
The operation is the largest use of police resources since the 7/7 bombings, a Scotland Yard source said
Scotland Yard said officers had been overwhelmed by the support given by the community to try to find the girl +14
Scotland Yard said officers had been overwhelmed by the support given by the community to try to find the girl
Officers shift greenery in a wasteland in west London after it was revealed no new evidence was found at Elthorne Park in Hanwell yesterday +14
Officers shift greenery in a wasteland in west London after it was revealed no new evidence was found at Elthorne Park in Hanwell yesterday
A Metropolitan Police spokesman said so far the search had involved underwater and confined space experts +14
A Metropolitan Police spokesman said so far the search had involved underwater and confined space experts
Detective Superintendent Carla Mentha said police were still appealing to members of the public for any information about the girl +14
Detective Superintendent Carla Mentha said police were still appealing to members of the public for any information about the girl
CCTV footage of Alice Gross released by MET Police

Yesterday officers revealed a staged reconstruction of the last known movements of the schoolgirl had incited more than 150 phone calls from viewers.
The video, which showed a girl of Alice’s age and appearance walking across the canal towpath swinging her arms distinctly, was shown on television on Thursday.
RELATED ARTICLES
Previous
1
Next

Detectives declare West London park an ‘area of interest’ in…

Catalogue of blunders that let a murderer slip the net:…
Killer Arnis Zalkalns slipped in and out of the UK dozens of times
Prime Suspect in hunt for missing Alice Gross sent money to…

Moment prime suspect in Alice Gross investigation shows…
SHARE THIS ARTICLE
Share
Investigators however drew a blank yesterday afternoon after finding nothing at Elthorne Park in Hanwell, Ealing, which had been declared an area of interest.
Forensic teams combed the leafy park in the morning and even erected a tent in one field after being notified of ‘disturbed ground’.
Officers are still searching the Grand Union Canal, where a six-inch knife was discovered last week.
Metropolitan Police however said they had no reason to believe Alice had come to any harm.
Her family released an emotional appeal this week, sharing photographs and video footage of the teenager singing.
Her parents Jose Gross and Rosalind Hodgkiss said in a statement: ‘Alice has been missing for four weeks now.
Alice Gross has been missing since August 28 +14
The 14-year-old was last seen crossing a canal towpath in west London +14
Alice Gross has been missing since August 28 when she was last seen crossing the towpath in west London
Police today said CCTV had played a crucial role in the search for Alice Gross who went missing more than four weeks ago. She was last seen crossing a towpath at Grand Union Canal in west London on August 28 +14
Police today said CCTV had played a crucial role in the search for Alice Gross who went missing more than four weeks ago. She was last seen crossing a towpath at Grand Union Canal in west London on August 28
Alice’s parents Jose Gross and Rosalind Hodgekiss issued an emotional appeal for their daughter to return home +14
Alice’s parents Jose Gross and Rosalind Hodgekiss issued an emotional appeal for their daughter to return home
Latvian murderer Arnis Zalkalns disappeared a week after the schoolgirl after being seen on the towpath cycling 15 minutes after Alice +14
Latvian murderer Arnis Zalkalns disappeared a week after the schoolgirl after being seen on the towpath cycling 15 minutes after Alice
‘We are desperately concerned about her welfare and worry constantly about what may have happened to her.
‘We are appealing to Alice. If you are out there, to come home where you belong. We love you and we miss you.
‘We want to see your smile again, we want to hear you sing again, to see you cuddle Peggy, or sit at the piano. We want to be a family again.’
A Metropolitan Police spokesman said today: ‘This continues to be a massive investigation.
‘A range of officers and staff from across the Met are taking part in the ever-expanding search for Alice.
‘To date the search has involved the Met’s underwater and confined space search team, marine support unit, search dogs, air support unit, Territorial Support Group, local borough officers, volunteer police cadets, visual images identification and detections officers, plus licensed search officers.’

– Jennifer Smith

About Jumpin' Jack Cash

Deep connections are the most important aspect of my existence. I don’t care if people don’t know what they want. I love books. I’m cynical of love stories, although I’m romantic. I adore gardens. I like women who challenge me. I love the rain as an excuse to stay inside and dream. I'm furiously impatient. If I ask you a question best to tell me the truth as I'm likely to already know the answer. I'm a carnivore. I continuously underestimate the magic of fresh flowers in my home. I love warm rain in the summer. My mood elevates to epic proportions when the sun shines. Tell me not to do something and I'll do it twice and take photos. Running is my antidepressant. I loathe lies. I rarely forgive a lie. Loyalty and honesty are my most noble virtues, and I value them more than anything in other people. I love to love, and am able to fall in love very quickly, although it's only ever happened once. I understood myself and fixed myself only after destroying myself. My greatest excitement comes from deliberately getting lost in foreign cities. I can be extremely loud and frighteningly silent. I hate insinuations. I love storms. Justice for all. I'm a proud man, but welcome the influence of the feminine soul. I have two sisters. I’m a dreamer. I’m a deep thinker. Don’t deal with guilt trips or drama that well. I'm extremely stubborn and persistent. I'm brilliant at keeping secrets. I love driving. I become absolutely and completely lost while watching a burning fire. When the toast pops from the toaster I’m never ready and shit myself. I play the guitar, but require much improvement. Solitude and warmth of the sun are perfect together. I’ve been married once and now divorced. I’m a music junkie. Chocolate mousse is the shit. I curse too much. I find it difficult to make friends. I spent four years as a firefighter. I’ve run my own company since 1991. Bright lights, big cities. I’ve been an executive producer of a feature film. Some people don’t care, and that’s the biggest let-down of the human race. There are cures and solutions for many evils, but no remedy for the worst of them all - the apathy of human beings. The sound of the Italian language being spoken is as good as my favourite music. I hate corrupt cops. I relentlessly and passionately pursue anybody and anything that sets my soul on fire. I'm a dog lover, and all my dogs are considered family members. I have an obsession with photography. I have some close friends who are household names, but shall always remain anonymous. I’m crazy but not lazy. Losing a soulmate has hurt me badly. My two young sons are the nucleus of my universe. I love airports. I love freedom. If you are dishonest or disloyal, I can erase you from my life and memory immediately and permanently. I yearn to explore, dream about and discover as many friendships, deep connections and places, one possibly can in a lifetime.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

